Department of Anesthesiology and Critical Care

Home About Us Faculty Patient Care Education Research

AUA 2011

Recent AUA Meeting in Philadelphia

The AUA 2011 Annual Meeting was held in Philadelphia May 12-14. Arthur Rubenstein welcomed everyone and gave an overview on the future of academic medicine. Penn Anesthesia was well represented at the meeting. Josh Atkins, Mark Neuman, Jeffrey Silber and Bob Gaiser were selected to give oral presentations. In addition, there were 14 poster presentations from Penn and Dave Eckmann won the Best Basic Science Poster of the entire meeting! Also, Lee Fleisher was elected President-elect of the AUA and will become President at the next AUA meeting in 2012. A delegation of anesthesiologists from China, including the President of the Chinese Society of Anesthesiologists attended the AUA meeting. Congratulations to all of the above and to everyone who made the meeting a huge success!

  • 2011 AUA Meeting - Photo 1Lee Fleisher, AUA President-elect; Mark Warner, ASA President; Buwei Yu, CSA President; Renyu Liu
  • Buwei Yu, CSA President; Kevin Tremper, AUA President; Rod Eckenhoff 2011 AUA Meeting - Photo 2
  • 2011 AUA Meeting - Photo 3David Eckmann , winner of the AUA 2011 Best Basic Science Poster Award
  • 2011 AUA Meeting - Photo 4Josh Atkins, invited speaker
  • 2011 AUA Meeting - Photo 5Bob Gaiser, invited speaker
  • 2011 AUA Meeting - Photo 6Jeff Silbers, invited speaker
  • 2011 AUA Meeting - Photo 7 Penn Anesthesia reception at the Union League
  • 2011 AUA Meeting - Photo 8Josh Atkins, Renyu Liu and Huafeng Wei hosted a delegation of anethesiologists from China