Departments and Services | For Patients | Research & Trials | Education | Find a Doctor

Division of Infectious Disease
Division of Infections Disease
Fellowship Program
Clinical Programs
Penn CDC Prevention Epicenters Program
Clinical Trials
Botswana-UPenn Partnership
Administrative Contacts
Mid-Atlantic Infectious Diseases Fellows' Forum


Events and Accolades


  • Baligh Yehia, MD, MSHP, MPP has been appointed by the White House to serve as Senior Advisor on Healthcare to the Secretary of the Department of Veterans Affairs (VA). In this role, he will serve as the principal health advisor to the Secretary, helping shape policy that will impact the largest integrated healthcare system in the country. In addition, he will work closely with the White House, Department of Health and Human Services, Department of Defense, and other agencies on issues related to the health of veterans and their families. This is his second year in this Presidential appointment.
  • Keith Hamilton, MD, director of the Antimicrobial Stewardship Program of HUP, contributed to the Penn Medicine News Blog: Antibiotic Resistance: The Med, Vet Connection in January 2015:


  • Keith Hamilton, MD has been selected as this year's AOA faculty inductee. This award recognizes the highest standards of professionalism and commitment to high quality health care.
  • Stephen J. Gluckman, MD has been announced as one of the new members of The Academy of Master Clinicians in November 2014. This membership recognizes Penn Medicine clinicians who exemplify the highest standards of clinical excellence, humanism and professionalism. Election to The Academy of Master Clinicians is the highest clinical honor to be bestowed on a Penn physician.
  • Ebbing Lautenbach, MD, MPH, MSCE is named a Fellow, College of Physicians of Philadelphia, October 2014.
  • Laura Bamford, MD, MSCE received the Penn McCabe Fund pilot award for her work proposing to assess the use of the quadrivalent HPV vaccine as treatment for condyloma acuminatum, July 2014.
  • David Holtzman, MD and Ramin S. Herati, MD both tied as recipients of the Robert Austrian Outstanding Fellow Award, June 2014.
  • Stephen J. Gluckman, MD receives the Faculty Teaching Award, June 2014.
  • Havey Rubin, MD is featured in Philadelphia Inquirer article, May 25, 2014 "A lifesaving chain, from Hollywood to Phila."
  • Katherine J. Bar, MD, has been appointed as Assistant Professor of Medicine (tenure track) effective July 1, 2014.
  • Jennifer H. Han, MD, MSCE has been appointed as an Assistant Professor of Medicine (CE track) effective July 1, 2014.
  • Ramin S. Herati, MD, has been selected as a Department of Medicine Measy Senior Research Fellow, effective July 1, 2014. This highly competitive award is aimed at fellow level physician-scientists who are committed to lab-based research, providing support to promising senior fellows during the period of transition from research fellow to faculty member.
  • Emily Blumberg, MD was awarded Top Doctor, Philadelphia Magazine, May 2014
  • Penn Fecal Microbiota Transplant Program in the news. Philadelphia Inquirer, April 7, 2014:
  • Pablo Tebas, MD, is the lead author of the March 12, 2014 New England Journal of Medicine paper entitled: "Gene Editing of CCR5 in Autologous CD4 T Cells of Persons Infected with HIV":
  • Judith A. O'Donnell, MD and Richard Maniglia, MD were among the PPMC winners of the UPHS Quality and Patient Safety Award in January 2014.
  • Stephen J. Gluckman, MD has been recognized in 2014 by the Gold Humanism Honor Society, which was established by the the Arnold P. Gold Foundation (APGF) as a signature program to recognize medical faculty who practice patient-centered care by modeling the qualities of integrity, excellence, compassion, altruism, respect and empathy.


  • Keith Hamilton, MD, is one of the winners of the Penn Medicine Innovation Grant; Project Title: Generation of near real-time antibiograms leveraging the Penn Data Store (PDS).
  • Jody Gilmore MSN, CRNP, a nurse practitioner in PPMC's Infectious Diseases Practice/Viral Hepatitis Center, is honored by the Association of Nurses in AIDS Care (ANAC) as the 2012 recipient of the ANAC Joanne Ruiz Achievement Award for Excellence in Clinical Practice in HIV Care. This award is given to outstanding nurse clinicians who are recognized for their knowledge and skill in caring for people with HIV and their families, and are a source of pride to self, peer, patients, and colleagues. According to ANAC leadership, this award is given to "the nurse you would most want to care for your loved ones." Jody was honored at ANAC's annual conference in Arizona in November.
  • Janet Hines, MD is the recipient of one of the MS2 Pre-Clinical Teaching Awards for her outstanding work directing the Microbiology/Infectious Diseases course 2012-2013.
  • Jennifer Han, MD, MSCE is the recipient of the Robert Austrian Outstanding Fellow Award.
  • Keith Hamilton, MD is the recipient of the Outstanding Clinical Teaching Award.
  • Gregory P. Bisson, MD, MSCE is the recipient of the Marjorie A. Bowman New Investigator Award, a Penn Medicine Award of Excellence

  • Vincent Lo Re, MD MSCE is the recipient of the Leonard Berwick Memorial Teaching Award
  • Stuart Isaacs, MD is appointed Associate Dean for Animal Research, Perelman School of Medicine 2013

  • Katharine J. Bar, MD received the Young Faculty Investigator Award, Center for HIV/AIDS Vaccine Immunology-Immunogen Design


  • Darren Linkin, MD, MSCE is the recipient of the Clinical Teaching Award.
  • Drs. Stacey Trooskin, MD and Baligh Yehia, MD, MSHP, MPP are the recipients of the Austrian Award for Outstanding Fellow.


  • Janet Hines, MD is the recipient of the Clinical Teaching Award.
  • Keith Hamilton, MD is the recipient of the Austrian Award.


  • Ingi Lee, MD is the recipient of the Austrian Award.
  • Todd Barton, MD is the recipient of the Clinical Teaching Award.