August 13, 2009

Resource Guide for Cancer Survivors Interested in Exercise

Back to the News Release

This page details locations local to the Philadelphia Metropolitan Area as well as locations
across the United States that are part of the LIVESTRONG at the YMCA cancer survivorship collaborative.

Philadelphia

  • Sisters In Shape Fitness
    1320 Somerville Ave.
    Philadelphia, PA, 19141
    (Inside the York North Apartments on the ground floor, 1 block south of Broad and Olney)
    215-329-8663 (Ask for Melanie Marchand or Salima Deendayal)

Montgomery County

  • Lisa Newman
    Personal Trainer (ACE Advanced Fitness Certification)
    lnewman59@hotmail.com
    610-554-3493
    Trains in your home or at the Main Line YMCA in Ardmore, PA (but you must be a member).

Delaware County

  • Community YMCA of Eastern Delaware County, Ridley Area YMCA
    900 South Avenue
    Secane, PA 19018
    Colleen Greeley
    Health & Wellness Director
    610-544-1080, ext. 220
    cgreeley@cyedc.org

Philadelphia, Montgomery County, and Delaware County

The YMCA of Philadelphia and Vicinity has 3 fitness center locations that are currently able to offer a
weight lifting program for breast cancer survivors (Ambler, Fort Washington, Ardmore) and hopes to have
the program available at all 13 fitness center locations by January 2010. For further information this
program at ANY of the 13 fitness centers that are part of this YMCA association (see
http://www.ymcaphilly.org/y-branches for branch locations), contact:

  • Sean Elliott
    Executive Director, Abington YMCA
    Association Wellness Quality Team Director
    YMCA of Philadelphia and Vicinity
    (215) 884-9622

Southern New Jersey (Burlington County)

YMCA of Burlington County (Mount Laurel and Riverfront locations) has 3 programs:

  • LiveSTRONG at the YMCA: After Cancer
    Contact: Joann Agoglia 856-234-6200 ext. 304 joanna@ymca-bc.org
  • LiveSTRONG at the YMCA: In the Water
    Contact: Linda Davis 609-543-6200 ext. 302 lindad@ymca-bc.org
  • LiveSTRONG at the YMCA: For Teens
    Contact: Joann Agoglia 856-234-6200 ext. 304 joanna@ymca-bc.org

LIVESTRONG at the YMCA

A program of the YMCA and the Lance Armstrong Foundation

The Lance Armstrong Foundation (LAF) and the YMCA of the USA are working together to create physical activity and wellness programs for cancer survivors. By the end of 2009, LIVESTRONG™ programs will be available in the following cities across the United States:

YMCA City State Contact Phone Email
YMCA of West Central Florida Lakeland FL Leonard Speed 869-644-3528 leonard.speed@ymcawcf.org
YMCA of the Suncoast Clearwater/St. Petersburg FL Jennifer Bingham 727-394-9622 jbingham@suncoastymca.org
Tampa Metropolitan YMCA Tampa FL Jon Dearolf 813-224-9622 jonathan.dearolf@tampaymca.org
YMCA of Greater Des Moines Des Moines IA Kim Stewart 515-471-8581 kim.stewart@dmymca.org
Treasure Valley Family YMCA Boise ID Mary Biddle-Newberry 208-344-5502 x276 mary.biddle@ymcatvidaho.org
YMCA of Greater Louisville Louisville KY Heather Kluemper 502-329-4793 livestrong@ymcalouisville.org
YMCA of Greater Boston Boston MA Jerri Pratt 617-927-8080 jpratt@ymcaboston.org
Ann Arbor YMCA Ann Arbor MI Mary Beth Sheahan 734-661-8022 livestrong@annarborymca.org
YMCA of Greater Charlotte - Lowes Charlotte NC Amy Hurt 704-716-4053 Amy.hurt@ymcacharlotte.org
YMCA of Greater Charlotte - Dowd Charlotte NC Amy Hoffner 704-716-6100 amy.hoffner@ymcacharlotte.org
YMCA of Cass and Clay Counties Fargo ND Pam Erickson 701-364-4166 erickson@ymcacassclay.org
YMCA of Burlington County Burlington NJ Kathy Custis 609-543-6200 x304 kathyc@ymca-bc.org
Metuchen Edison Woodbridge YMCA Metuchen NJ Marie Patterson 732-548-2044 marie.patterson@metuchen-edisonymca.org
Metuchen Edison Woodbridge YMCA Woodbridge NJ Kim Cole 732-548-2044 kim.cole@metuchen-edisonymca.org
Metuchen Edison Woodbridge YMCA   Edison   NJ   Lexy Anderson   732-548-2044   lexy.anderson@metuchen-edisonymca.org  
YMCA of Greater Rochester   Rochester   NY   Deb Duffy   585-227-3900   debd@rochesterymca.org  
YMCA of Greater Syracuse   Syracuse   NY   Cheryl Pustzai   315-474-6851 x321   cpusztai@downtownsyracuseymca.org  
Great Miami Valley YMCA   Fairfield   OH   Chris Lindeman   513-829-3091   lindeman@gmvymca.org  
YMCA of Greater Providence   Providence   RI   Judy Cerrito   401-828-0130   jcerrito@gpymca.org  
YMCA of Metropolitan Dallas   Dallas   TX   Jayson Killough   214-221-9622   jkillough@ymcadallas.org  
YMCA of Snohomish County   Marysville   WA   Wendy Bart   360-653-9622   wbart@ymca-snoco.org  
YMCA of Greater Seattle   Seattle   WA   Therese Billings   206-382-7893   tbillings@seattleymca.org  
YMCA of Greater Milwaukee   Milwaukee   WI   Joel Mathews   414-274-0814   jmmathews@ymcamke.org  

For information about the YMCA of the USA and Lance Armstrong Foundation partnerships, contact:

 Ann-Hilary Hanly    Haley Justice  
 YMCA of the USA Project Manager    Lance Armstrong Foundation LiveSTRONG Manager  
 800-872-9622 x2847    512-279-8389  
 ann-hilary.hanly@ymca.net    haley.justice@livestrong.org  

 

 

Print, Share, or Save
 
Media Contact

Holly Auer
(215) 349-5659

 
Other Contacts
 
 
Latest News
All News Releases


About Penn Medicine   Contact Us   Site Map   Privacy Statement   Legal Disclaimer   Terms of Use

Penn Medicine, Philadelphia, PA 800-789-PENN © 2013, The Trustees of the University of Pennsylvania