Department of Obstetrics & Gynecology

Obstetrics & Gynecology

News & Events

Resident Research Day

The 14th Annual Resident Research Day took place on May 19, 2017.  Dr. Maureen G. Phipps delivered the John Rock Lecture entitled:  The Role of US Preventive Services Task Force in Women's Health.  Dr. Phipps is the Chace-Joukowsky Professor and Chair of the Department of OBGYN and Assistant Dean for Teaching and Research in Women's Health at the Warren Alpert Medical School of Brown University.

Penn Pearls Teaching Award Given to Two OBGYNs

Congratulations to Drs. DaCarla Albright and Joy Cooper who were selected by the medical students to recieve a Penn Pearls Award in recognition of their dedication to medical student teaching.

The First Helen Ross Bogutz Early Detection & Ovarian Cancer Sympsoium & 3rd Annual John J. Mikuta Endowed Lectureship in Gynecologic Oncology

Dr. Steven J. Ralston Appointed Chair of OBGYN

Dr. Steven J. Ralston has been appointed Chair of the Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology at Pennsylvania Hospital.  Dr. Ralston will also serve as Director of the Obstetrical Serivce and as Vice-chair for the Perelman School of Medicine's Department of Obstetrics & Gynecology.  


Penn Medicine Women’s Health is on Facebook 

This is one of our initiatives to promote women’s health at Penn.  We look forward to working with the Penn Medicine community - programs, departments, hospitals, other service lines, etc. to promote and educate women’s health and highlight the services we offer.

2017 Awards & Honors

Dr. Maryl Sackheim received the Sharon Youcha Compassionate Patient Care Award for excellent patient care with compassion, empathy and respect, and listens and treats the patient as a whole person.

Dr. Sarah DiBartolomeo received the John J. Mikuta Award for Professionalism in Women's Health.  This award recognizes an individual in the Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology who exemplifies a commitment to the highest standards of excellence in the practice of medicine, embraces the core values of integrity and respect for others, and is committed to the welfare of their patients and the health care needs of women.

Dr. Joy Cooper received the Robert R. Rascoe, MD Award for Excellence in Ambulatory Patient Care.  This award recognizes a chief resident who has demonstrated compassionate care and concern for our patients.  The recipient was selected by the attendings and nursing staff in the Helen O. Dickens Center for Women's Health. 

Brenda Efymow received the Louisa Tatonetti Borio Award for Nursing Excellence in Amburlatory Women's Health Care.

Teaching Awards:

Dr. Adi Hirschberg - Fellow Teaching Award for Excellence in Resident Education.

Dr. Rebecca Hamm - Resident Research Award for Excellence in Research.

Dr. Elizabeth Clement - Resident Teaching Award for Excellence in Medical Student Education.

Dr. Corrina Oxford - Faculty Award for Excellence in Resident Education in Obstetrics and Gynecology.

Dr. Sarah Gutman - Midwife's Intern Award.

Dr. Rebecca Hamm - Midwife's Golden Mitt Award

Drs. DaCarla Albright and Joy Cooper- Penn Pearls Award.  This award honors faculty and residents who excel in teaching on the clinical service and serve as role models and mentors for our students.

New Faculty

Drs. Alhambra Frarey and Andrea Roe will be joining PEACE (formerly known as the Penn Family Planning and Pregnancy Loss Center) in July 2017. 

Dr. Adi Hirschberg will be joining Maternal Fetal Medicine in July 2017.

Dr. Kathleen O'Neill will be joining Penn Fertility Care in July 2017

Maggie Power,CNM joined Penn Ob/GYN Associates in April 2017.

Intern Class of 2017-2018

Madhura Bhadra, MD, MS

Boston University

Leigh Ann Humphries, MD

Harvard University

Corazon Irizarry, MD

University of Pennsylvania

Sun Woo Kim, MD

Weill Cornell Medical College

Iris Lee, MD

University of Pennsylvania

Dimitrios Nasioudis, MD

University of Thessaloniki


Julie Suyama, MD, PhD

Virginia Commonwealth Univ.


2017 Annual End of Year Dinner

On June 15th, the Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology held its annual end of year dinner honoring our senior fellows and chief residents. It was a great success and we wish all of our graduates the very best!