Honors & Awards

Jeffrey Berns, M.D., F.A.C.P., Associate Chief for Clinical Affairs, Fellowship Program Director

  • J. Russell Elkinton Faculty Teaching Award; Renal Electrolyte and Hypertension Division 2007
  • Leonard Berwick Memorial Teaching Award, University of Pennsylvania School of Medicine (2008)
  • Penn Medicine Patient Advocacy Award (2010)
  • US News and World Report's "American's Top Doctors" - Nephrology (2011)
  • Penn Medicine Module II Teaching Award, University of Pennsylvania School of Medicine (2011)
  • Philadelphia Magazine "Top Docs" - Nephrology (2011)
  • Philadelphia Magazine "Top Docs" - Nephrolgoy (2012)
  • Christian R. and Mary F. Lindback Award for Distinguished Teaching, University of Pennsylvania (2012)

Mortimer M. Civan, M.D.

  • Invited Member, ARVO/Pfizer Research Institute Working Group. Proceedings published as: Fautsch MP, Johnson DH, and the Second ARVO/Pfizer Research Institute Working Group: Aqueous humor outflow: What do we know? Where will it lead us? Invest. Ophthalmol. Vis. Sci. 47:4181-7, 2006.
  • Invited Member, Planning Committee for Glaucoma Section of the International Congress of Eye Research held at Buenos Aires, Argentina, 2006.
  • Editorial Board, American Journal of Physiology: Cell Physiology

Debbie Cohen, M.D.

  • Editorial Position: Review of Endocrinology

Lawrence B. Holzman, MD

  • Award for Teaching Excellence, Division of Nephrology, University of Michigan Medical School (2006)
  • Top Doc, Hour Detroit Monthly (2007)
  • Elected, American Association of Physicians (2008)

Josh Lipschutz, M.D., University of Pennsylvania

  • Department of Medicine Holmes Award in Bench Research to Nathan Hellman M.D., Ph.D. for work done in the Lipschutz Lab, 2006
  • Deployed on active duty status to Baghdad, Iraq. Served at a Forward Support Hospital, C. Co., 199th FSB, 256th BCT (March 2005-July 2005). Awarded an Army Commendation Medal, Operation Iraqi Freedom Medal, and a War on Terrorism Medal.
  • Editorial Board, American Journal of Physiology, Renal Physiology

Jonathan Maltzman, MD, PhD

  • John Merrill Grant in Transplantation (Awarded jointly by the American Society of Nephrology and American Society of Transplantation) (2007)
  • Austrian Award for Junior Faculty (DOM) (2007)
  • American Society of Transplantation Basic Science Career Development Award (2012)
  • American Society of Clinical Investigation (2012)

James B. Reilly, MD, MSHP, FACP

  • Penn Pearl Teaching Award, Perelman School of Medicine at the University of Pennsylvania (2011)

Katalin Susztak, MD, PhD

  • Carl W. Gottschalk Research Scholar Award of the American Society of Nephrology/Kidney Urology Foundation (2006)
  • Mary Jane Kugel Award from the Juvenile Diabetes Foundation (2008)
  • Wilhelm Kriz Award of the Podocyte Meeting (2008)
  • Elected member American Society of Clinical Investigators (2011)
  • Young Investigator Award of the American Society of Nephrology and the Kidney Council of the American Heart Association (2011)

Raymond Townsend, M.D.

  • Donald B. Martin Teaching Award (Dept. of Medicine Housestaff) 1995-1996
  • Russell T. Elkinton Award (From Renal Fellows) 2000-2001
  • Outstanding Lecturer Award (From Penn Med Students) 2000-2001
  • Program Committee ACP/ASIM for 2007 Annual Meeting
  • Fellow, Council for High Blood Pressure Research
  • Fellow, American Heart Association
  • Associate Editor, Annals of Internal Medicine 2000-2005
  • Associate Editor, Journal of Clinical Hypertension 1999-Present

Alan Wasserstein, M.D.

  • Chair, Medical Faculty Senate, 2000-2001



About Penn Medicine   Contact Us   Site Map   Privacy Statement   Legal Disclaimer   Terms of Use

Penn Medicine, Philadelphia, PA 800-789-PENN © 2013, The Trustees of the University of Pennsylvania