Shadowing Program

The Agnew Society has developed a shadowing program to encourage and facilitate exploration of surgical careers early in medical education. Through the program, pre-clinical students interested in Surgery will have the opportunity to observe faculty members in the operating room and during office hours. This is a unique opportunity to meet and observe surgical attending physicians and become comfortable in the field, without the pressure of grades or evaluations.

Participating faculty members and their contact information are listed below. Please be sure to contact the surgeon (or their listed contact) in advance and schedule a mutually acceptable time. Please remember to keep your appointment as the faculty members on this list have generously offered their time. To derive the most benefit from your experience, we encourage you to schedule your visit at a time when you can devote at least 2-3 hours.

*Please note that some attendings are only able to accommodate students in the operating room OR during office hours. Secondly, to shadow in the operating room, students MUST complete the Surgery Clerkship “Orientation to the Operating Room” session or choose an attending who does not require the perquisite OR training.

The "Orientation to the Operating Room" sessions are held at the SIM Center at 1800 Lombard Street. For other questions regarding the training sessions, please contact the Surgery Medical Education Coordinator, Laura Huth, at laura.huth@uphs.upenn.edu. Space is limited to 10 students so please email immediately if you are interested.

Please complete Observership (Shadowing) Program Interest Form and return to laura.huth@uphs.upenn.edu.

Be sure to dress appropriately for the office (business casual is appropriate) while scrubs are required in the OR. In both settings, a white coat should be worn, and, of course, professional behavior is of utmost importance in any clinical setting.

Name: Peter Abt, MD
Field: Transplant Surgery
Contact: Shannon Holloway at shannon.holloway@uphs.upenn.edu
Shadowing Offered: OR and Clinic
Prerequisite OR training required: no
Required interest in your surgical subspecialty: no
Name: Rachel Kelz, MD, MSCE
Field: Endocrine and Oncologic Surgery
Contact: Denise Orr at denise.orr@uphs.upenn.edu
Shadowing offered: OR and Clinic
Prerequisite OR training required: yes
Required interest in your surgical subspecialty: no
   
Name: Scott Bartlett, MD
Field: Plastic Surgery
Contact: Lakisha Sewell at lakisha.sewell@uphs.upenn.edu
Shadowing Offered: OR and Clinic
Prerequisite OR training required: yes
Required interest in your surgical subspecialty: no
Name: David Lee, MD
Field: Urology and Robotic Surgery
Contact: Angela Haswell at 215-662-8699
Shadowing Offered: OR only
Prerequisite OR training required: no
Required interest in your surgical subspecialty: no
   
Name: Edward Cantu, MD
Field: Cardiovascular Surgery
Contact: Sharon Murchison at sharon.murchison@uphs.upenn.edu
Shadowing Offered: OR and Clinic
Prerequisite OR training required: yes
Required interest in your surgical subspecialty: no
Name: Jon Morris, MD
Field: Gastrointestinal Surgery
Contact: Aishah Coley at aishah.coley@uphs.upenn.edu
Shadowing Offered: Clinic only
Prerequisite OR training required: NA
Required interest in your surgical subspecialty: no
   
Name: Benjamin Chang, MD
Field: Plastic Surgery
Contact: Amanda Loughery at amanda.loughery@uphs.upenn.edu
Shadowing Offered: OR and Clinic
Prerequisite OR training required: no
Required interest in your surgical subspecialty: no
Name: Ian Soriano, MD
Field: Gastrointestinal Surgery (bariatric, robotic surgery)
Contact: Jessica Tustin at jessica.tustin@uphs.upenn.edu
Shadowing Offered: OR and Clinic
Prerequisite OR training required: no
Required interest in your surgical subspecialty: no
   
Name: Kristoffel Dumon, MD
Field: Gastrointestinal Surgery
Contact: Kristoffel Dumon, Cell: 215-738-0119
Shadowing Offered: OR and Clinic
Prerequisite OR training required: no
Required interest in your surgical subspecialty: yes
Name: Hansell Stedman, MD
Field: Gastrointestinal Surgery
Contact: Joanne Loguidice at joanne.loguidice@va.gov
or 215-823-5880
Shadowing Offered: OR and Clinic
Prerequisite OR training required: no
Required interest in your surgical subspecialty: no
   
Name: Patrick Kim, MD
Field: Trauma and Surgical Critical
Contact: Dominika Obrecht dominika.obrecht@uphs.upenn.edu
Shadowing Offered: OR and Clinic
Prerequisite OR training required: yes
Required interest in your surgical subspecialty: yes
Name: Charles M. Vollmer, MD
Field: Gastrointestinal Surgery (Pancreas and Liver)
Contact: Denise Orr at denise.orr@uphs.upenn.edu
Shadowing Offered: OR and Clinic
Prerequisite OR training required: no
Required interest in your surgical subspecialty: no
   

Any questions?

Contact Laura Huth