penn surgery
penn surgery home penn surgery clinical penn surgery education penn surgery research penn surgery administration
Welcome to
What is PARC?
An initiative for interdepartmental clinical research at Penn Presbyterian Medical Center, bringing together Penn investigators from wide range of disciplines that will now interact in more meaningful and innovative collaborations. (presentation)
Dr. Abella Dr. Levine Dr. Sims
B. Abella
J. Levine C. Sims
Clinical Director:
Benjamin Abella, MD, MPhil   email
Education Director:
Joshua M. Levine, MD   email
Laboratory Director:
Carrie A. Sims, MD   email

Laboratory Manager:
Antonio Davila, Jr., PhD  email
Clinical Research Coordinator:
Gayle I. Mendoza, MPH   email
Research Administrative Assistant:
Myra Rodriguez, BBA, CCRC   email
Monthly PARC Meetings

Every 3rd Thursday of each Month
12:00 pm – 1:00 pm
PPMC-TSICU 4th Floor
Complete Schedule

PARC Pilot Grant Program
2017 Winners
John Greenwood, MD / David Jang, MD
Danielle Sandsmark, MD, PhD
Michael Shashaty, MD
Here for details
Abstract Deadlines
Injury Research buttonScope of Acute Care Research (ACR)
ACR - spans across multiple disciplines
Defined operationally as research into time-sensitive conditions with the need for rapid screening and enrollment at all times, “Any enrollment, any time”.  ACR collaborative structures are rare in U.S. academic medical centers; PARC would contribute to goal of “best in class”’.
Current PARC Studies (link)
PARC Initiative: Specific Aims
Aim 1 Establish a broad, multidisciplinary faculty group to foster acute care research collaboration and new project proposals.
Aim 2 Implement a 24/7 research staff program to support acute care research projects and serve as an attractive infrastructure to support funding proposals to federal and other sources. PPMC - Andrew Mutch Building
Aim 3 Develop a collaborative translational
laboratory space. (Mutch 3rd floor)
Aim 4 Develop collaborative translational projects in the mechanistic underpinnings of acute care conditions and subsequent pathophysiology.
Departmental Supporters of PARC
The PARC program gratefully acknowledges the generous support of the following departments:
  • Anesthesia
  • Emergency Medicine
  • Neurology
  • Neurosurgery
  • Orthopedics
  • Perelman School of Medicine at the
    University of Pennsylvania
  • Physical Medicine
  • Rehabilitation
  • Surgery
Penn Medicine Leadership - PARC Physician Champions
Ronald DeMatteo Edward Dickinson M. Sean Grady

Ronald P. DeMatteo, MD
Chair, Department of Surgery

Edward T. Dickinson, MD
Director, EMS Field Operations Medical Director, Emergency Department, HUP Professor of Emergency Medicine at the Hospital of the University of Pennsylvania

M. Sean Grady, MD
Chairman, Dept. of Neurosurgery
Charles Harrison Frazier Professor of Neurosurgery
Professor of Otorhinolaryngology
Head and Neck Surgery

Frances Jensen L. Scott Levin Michael Parmacek

Frances Jensen, MD FACP
Chair, Department of Neurology
Professor of Neurology

L. Scott Levin, MD FACS
Chair, Department of
Orthopaedic Surgery
Paul B. Magnuson Professor of Bone and Joint Surgery
Professor of Plastic Surgery

Michael Parmacek, MD
Chair, Department of Medicine
Director, Penn
Cardiovascular Institute
Frank Wister Thomas
Professor of Medicine

  Pat Reilly  

Patrick Reilly, MD
Chief, Division of Trauma,
Surgical Critical Care and Emergency Surgery
Professor of Surgery



penn medicine