The Department of Surgery is committed to recruiting highly qualified applicants of diverse backgrounds that resonate with the institution’s mission of excellence. We strive to cultivate an environment of talented residents, faculty and staff with varied cultures and perspectives that reflect our surrounding Philadelphia community. With the changing landscape of healthcare, we intend to train future leaders in surgery, who are sensitive to differences in race, gender, religion, and sexual orientation.

In order to achieve this goal, our department has created the Diversity and Inclusion Committee composed of residents and faculty. This committee has a longitudinal focus on diverse recruitment and retention, faculty and resident education, community outreach, and scholarly activity.

Diversity & Inclusion Committee

Cary B Aarons, MD
Committee Chair
Associate Program Director

Rachel R. Kelz, MD
Committee Co-Chair
Associate Program Director

Noel Williams, MD
Committee Co-Chair
Associate Program Director

Committee Members
  • Paris Butler, MD, MPH
    Kendall Brooks. MD
    Jennifer Chung. MD
    Anna Garcia, MD
    Grace Lee, MD, MSME
  • Ariel Nehemiah, MD
    Sanford Roberts, MD
    Claire Rosen, MD
    Catherine Sharoky, MD
  • Jacqueline Soegaard, MD
    Robert Swendiman, MD, MPP
    Charles Vasquez, MD
    Salman Zaheer , MBBS